Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah

Table of Contents

In the realm of purchasing and selling Hajj pilgrimage permit, two terms echo: Hajj Tamattu and Umrah. However, what sets Hajj Tamattu apart from Umrah? Both of these journeys hold sacred significance for Muslims as they embark on a pilgrimage to visit the House of God. In this article we examine the difference between hajj tamattu and umrah.

Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah

Halq is one of the rites of hajj which means haircut obligatory for men. People also trim nails which is known as Taqsir.

Difference between hajj tamattu and umrah: Hajj Tamattu, an Obligatory Pilgrimage

Hajj Tamattu becomes obligatory for any Muslim who can afford the expenses of this journey, indicating financial capability, and possesses the physical ability to perform all Hajj rituals. Even if financial circumstances change years later, the obligation of Hajj remains, and it is not contingent on residing in Mecca.

It’s noteworthy that Hajj Tamattu is not obligatory for those whose place of residence is Mecca. One of the fundamental branches of the Islamic faith, Hajj, is highly recommended and is performed during specific months of the Islamic calendar (Dhul-Hijjah, Dhul-Qa’dah, and Shawwal).

Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah
Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah

Types of Hajj Tamattu

Tamattu is a type of Hajj that includes two components: Umrah Tamattu and Hajj Tamattu. Both must be performed, but they can be completed separately in the months designated for Hajj. Umrah Tamattu precedes Hajj Tamattu, requiring the fulfillment of its rites first.

7 interesting Places to visit in Jeddah

Types of Umrah

As mentioned, Umrah Tamattu is one part of the obligations of Hajj, while the other is individual Umrah, which is not obligatory but is recommended based on hadiths and statements. Purchasing a Hajj permit is essential for both.

Difference between hajj tamattu and umrah in Rituals

One significant difference between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah lies in their rituals. Although many rituals and ceremonies are shared between the two, there are distinctions.

Hajj Tamattu itself comprises two main segments: Umrah Tamattu and Hajj Tamattu. Umrah Tamattu involves specific rituals, some of which overlap with individual Umrah.

Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah
Difference Between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah

Rituals of Umrah Tamattu:

1. Ihram: This includes the intention, wearing the attire of Ihram, and reciting the Talbiyah.

2. Tawaf around the Kaaba: Circumambulating the Kaaba seven times.

3. Sa’i between Safa and Marwah: Walking seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwah.

4. Trimming hair: Trimming a portion of hair as part of the rituals.

5. Tahallul: Reducing the hair on the head or nails.

If you’ve purchased an individual Umrah permit, the rituals are similar, with some nuanced differences. For instance, shaving the head, not just trimming, is permitted during individual Umrah. Additionally, specific rituals like Tawaf Nisa and its accompanying prayers are part of individual Umrah but not Umrah Tamattu.

Completion of Obligatory Hajj Rituals

Upon completing the Umrah Tamattu rituals, one transitions to Hajj Tamattu to fulfill the remaining obligations. The rites of obligatory Hajj include:

1. Ihram in Mecca: The individual renews the intention for Hajj while in Mecca.

2. Standing at Arafat: Pilgrims gather at Arafat and spend the day in prayer and supplication.

3. Staying at Muzdalifah: After Arafat, pilgrims move to Muzdalifah, where they spend the night.

4. Stoning the Jamaraat: Pilgrims perform the ritual of stoning the three pillars symbolizing Satan.

5. Sacrifice: Offering a sacrificial animal in accordance with the Sunnah.

6. Trimming or Shaving the Head: Pilgrims trim or shave their heads, symbolizing purification and humility.

7. Tawaf Al-Ifadah: Performing Tawaf around the Kaaba after returning from Muzdalifah.

8. Sa’i between Safa and Marwah: Similar to Umrah Tamattu, pilgrims walk seven times between Safa and Marwah.

9. Stoning the Jamaraat for the Next Days: Pilgrims stone the pillars again on subsequent days.

10. Farewell Tawaf: A final Tawaf around the Kaaba before leaving Mecca.

Conclusion of Difference between hajj tamattu and umrah

The most notable difference between Hajj Tamattu and Umrah is the level of importance. Hajj Tamattu is obligatory for those who can afford it, and its completion is a fundamental duty in the life of a Muslim. It must be undertaken at least once, and even if circumstances change later in life, the obligation persists.

In contrast, purchasing a permit for individual Umrah is a personal choice, and the journey is considered recommended rather than obligatory. The timing for individual Umrah is more flexible, not restricted to specific months, allowing individuals to undertake the pilgrimage at any time throughout the year.

Understanding the distinct rituals and the significance attached to each journey provides clarity for those seeking to embark on these sacred pilgrimages. Whether it be the mandatory Hajj Tamattu or the recommended Umrah, both journeys offer unique spiritual experiences for Muslims around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Need help in planning your Travel?

Let us get in touch with you!